Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home
Close

Tulane's School of Science and Engineering is committed to excellence in teaching and learning. We are actively preparing for online teaching and monitoring developments related to the coronavirus (COVID-19). For more information, click here.

Faculty and all instructors in the School of Science and Engineering: Please login to Canvas for the most recent announcements and teaching instructions.

Current Graduate Students

Nadim Abu Hashmeh
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Remote sensing and planetary surface processes
BS, Earth and Planetary Science, - University of California, Santa Cruz
Faculty Advisor: Jennifer Whitten
Email: nabuhashmeh@tulane.edu

Akinbobola Akintomide
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Southern Louisiana Faults
MS, Geosciences - University of Tulsa, Oklahoma
B.Tech., Applied Geology - Federal University of Technology Akure, Nigeria
Faculty Advisor: Nancye Dawers
Email: aakintom@tulane.edu

Omolola Akintomide
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Biogeochemistry / Groundwater Hydrogeology
MS, Environmental Engineering - University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
BS, Civil Engineering - Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria
Faculty Advisor: Karen Johannesson
Email: oakintomide@tulane.edu

Sam Anderson
BS, Earth Science - University of California Santa Cruz
Faculty Advisor:Nicole Gasparini
Email: sanderson@tulane.edu

Maricel Beltrán Burgos
BS, Geology - University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez
Faculty Advisor: Christopher Esposito
Email: mbeltranburgos@tulane.edu

Kakonkwe Christian
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus:  When and how are forcing signals propagated from landscapes to depositional basins, and into strata
License en Sciences, Exploration et Géologie Minière, Université Officielle de Bukavu
MA, Earth Science, Syracuse University
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub and Nicole Gasparini
Email: kchristian@tulane.edu

Ryan Clarke
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Coastal Sedimentology
BS, Geological Sciences – Louisiana State University A&M College
MS, Geological Sciences – Louisiana State University A&M College
Faculty Advisor: Torbjörn E. Törnqvist
Email: rclarke@tulane.edu

Ripul Dutt
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
Geological Technology, Integrated Masters – Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub
Email:rdutt@tulane.edu

Katrina Ginsberg

Weston Harding
Ph.D. Dissertation and Focus: Geophysics and Earthquake Seismology
B.Sc (Hons), Earth and Ocean Sciences - National University of Ireland, Galway
Faculty Advisor: Cynthia Ebinger
Email: wharding@tulane.edu

Jackie Horn
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus:  Biogeochemistry/Geomicrobiology
MS, Geosciences – The University of Texas at Dallas
BS, Geosciences – The University of Texas at Dallas
Faculty Advisor:  Karen Johannesson
Email:  jhorn5@tulane.edu

Diana Carolina Hurtado Pulido
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Geophysics, GIS and Radar.
BS, Cadastral engineering and Geodesy - Francisco Jose de Caldas Distrital University – Bogotá, Colombia
Faculty advisor: Cynthia Ebinger and Reda Amer.
Email: dhurtadopulido@tulane.edu

Tori Kennedy
Master of Science Thesis Focus: Cosmogenic Nuclide Dating
BS, Environmental Science - Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Faculty advisor: Brent Goehring
Email: tkennedy4@tulane.edu

Lizmar Rodriguez-Lugo
BS, Geology - University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez
Faculty Advisor: Nicole Gasparini
Email: lrodriguezlugo@tulane.edu

Marie Mathews
Master of Science Thesis Focus: Coastal Geology, Coastal Restoration
BS, Earth and Ocean Sciences - Duke University (2017)
Faculty Advisor: Mead Allison
Email: mmathews1@tulane.edu

Udita Mukherjee
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Sequence Stratigraphy, Quaternary Geology
B.Sc. in Geology - Presidency College, Kolkata
M.Sc. in Geological Sciences - Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
Faculty Advisor: Torbjörn E. Törnqvist
Email: umukherjee@tulane.edu

Autumn Murray
Master of Science Thesis Focus: Sedimentology
B.S., Geology - Eastern Kentucky University
Faculty Advisor: Mead Allison
Email: amurray7@tulane.edu

Ryder Myers
BS, Geology - Louisiana State University
Faculty Advisor: Mead Allison
Email: rmyers3@tulane.edu

Keir Nichols
Ph. D. Dissertation Focus: Foraminifera to infer the palaeoceanography of Viscount Melville Sound in the Canadian Arctic, with a focus on the Viscount Melville Sound Ice Shelf
MS, Geoscience Research Training - Keele University
BS, Physical Geography - Aberystwyth University
Faculty Advisor: Brent Goehring
Email:  knichol3@tulane.edu

Sarah Jaye Oliva
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Geophysics; Fluids and stresses in early rifting
Postgraduate Diploma, Earth System Physics – Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Italy
BS, Physics – Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines
BS, Materials Science and Engineering – Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines
Faculty Advisor: Cynthia Ebinger
Email: soliva@tulane.edu

Thi Quan H. Pham
Master of Science Thesis Focus: Crestal faults above salt walls: slope minibasin province, Gulf of Mexico
BS, Geological Sciences - Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Faculty Advisor: Nancye H. Dawers

Cari Rand
Ph.D Dissertation Focus: Cosmogenic Nuclide Dating
MS, Earth and Environmental Sciences - Tulane University, 2018
BS, Geology - James Madison University
Faculty Advisor: Brent Goehring
Email:crand1@tulane.edu

Kevin Reece
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Stratigraphic Statistics for Deep-Water Characterization and Numerical Model Validation
MS, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
BS, University of South Carolina
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub
Email: jreece@tulane.edu

Laurent Roberge
PhD Dissertation Focus: Source-to-Sink Landscape Evolution
BSc, Geographical Biogeosciences, University of British Columbia
Faculty Advisor: Nicole Gasparini
Email: lroberge@tulane.edu

Jose Silvestre
PhD Dissertation Focus: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
BS, Geology, University of Texas at San Antonio
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub
Email: jsilvestre@tulane.edu

Rachel Sortor
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Cosmogenic Dating of Geomorphology in the Alaska Range
MS, Geology - University of Michigan
BS, Environmental Geosciences - University of Michigan
Faculty Advisor: Brent Goehring
Email:  rsortor@tulane.edu

Abdul Wahab
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
MS, Geology - University of Kansas, USA
BS, Geology - University of Peshawar, Pakistan
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub
Email: awahab@tulane.edu