Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

Current Graduate Students

Nadim Abu Hashmeh
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Remote sensing and planetary surface processes
BS, Earth and Planetary Science, - University of California, Santa Cruz
Faculty Advisor: Jennifer Whitten
Email: nabuhashmeh@tulane.edu

Akinbobola Akintomide
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Southern Louisiana Faults
MS, Geosciences - University of Tulsa, Oklahoma
B.Tech., Applied Geology - Federal University of Technology Akure, Nigeria
Faculty Advisor: Nancye Dawers
Email: aakintom@tulane.edu

Omolola Akintomide
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: BioGeochemistry / Groundwater Hydrogeology
MS, Environmental Engineering - University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
BS, Civil Engineering - Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Karen Johannesson
Email: oakintomide@tulane.edu

Sam Anderson
BS, Earth Science - University of California Santa Cruz
Faculty Advisor:Nicole Gasparini
Email: Sanderson@tulane.edu

Maricel Beltrán Burgos
BS, Geology - University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Christopher Esposito
Email: mbeltranburgos@tulane.edu

Ryan Clarke
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Coastal Sedimentology
BS, Geological Sciences – Louisiana State University A&M College
MS, Geological Sciences – Louisiana State University A&M College
Faculty Advisor: Torbjörn E. Törnqvist
Email: rclarke@tulane.edu | ryanclarke218@gmail.com

Ripul Dutt
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
Geological Technology, Integrated Masters – Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub
Email:rdutt@tulane.edu

Katrina Ginsberg

Weston Harding
Ph.D. Dissertation and Focus: Geophysics and Earthquake Seismology
B.Sc (Hons), Earth and Ocean Sciences - National University of Ireland, Galway
Faculty Advisor: Cynthia Ebinger
Email: wharding@tulane.edu

Jackie Horn
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus:  Biogeochemistry/Geomicrobiology
MS, Geosciences – The University of Texas at Dallas
BS, Geosciences – The University of Texas at Dallas
Faculty Advisor:  Karen Johannesson
Email:  jhorn5@tulane.edu

Diana Carolina Hurtado Pulido
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Geophysics, GIS and Radar.
BS, Cadastral engineering and Geodesy - Francisco Jose de Caldas Distrital University – Bogotá, Colombia
Faculty advisor: Dr. Cynthia Ebinger and Dr. Reda Amer.
Email: dhurtadopulido@tulane.edu

Tori Kennedy
Master of Science Thesis Focus: Cosmogenic Nuclide Dating
BS, Environmental Science - Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Faculty advisor: Dr. Brent Goehring
Email: tkennedy4@tulane.edu

Lizmar Rodriguez-Lugo
BS, Geology - University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nicole Gasparini
Email: lrodriguezlugo@tulane.edu

Marie Mathews
Master of Science Thesis Focus: Coastal Geology, Coastal Restoration
BS, Earth and Ocean Sciences - Duke University (2017)
Faculty Advisor: Mead Allison
Email: mmathews1@tulane.edu

Udita Mukherjee
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Sequence Stratigraphy, Quaternary Geology
B.Sc. in Geology - Presidency College, Kolkata
M.Sc. in Geological Sciences - Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
Faculty Advisor: Torbjörn E. Törnqvist
Email: umukherjee@tulane.edu

Autumn Murray
Master of Science Thesis Focus: Sedimentology
B.S., Geology - Eastern Kentucky University
Faculty Advisor: Mead Allison
Email: amurray7@tulane.edu

Ryder Myers
BS, Geology - Louisiana State University
Faculty Advisor: Mead Allison
Email: rmyers3@tulane.edu

Keir Nichols
Ph. D. Dissertation Focus: Foraminifera to infer the palaeoceanography of Viscount Melville Sound in the Canadian Arctic, with a focus on the Viscount Melville Sound Ice Shelf
MS, Geoscience Research Training - Keele University
BS, Physical Geography - Aberystwyth University
Faculty Advisor: Brent Goehring
Email:  knichol3@tulane.edu

Sarah Jaye Oliva
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Geophysics; Fluids and stresses in early rifting
Postgraduate Diploma, Earth System Physics – Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Italy
BS, Physics – Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines
BS, Materials Science and Engineering – Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines
Faculty Advisor: Cynthia Ebinger
Email: soliva@tulane.edu

Thi Quan H. Pham
Master of Science Thesis Focus: Crestal faults above salt walls: slope minibasin province, Gulf of Mexico
BS, Geological Sciences - Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nancye H. Dawers

Michael Ramirez
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Field Observation and Numerical Modeling of Bedform Morphodynamics in the Lower Mississippi River
BA, Earth and Environmental Science - Vanderbilt University 2009
MS, Geosciences - The University of Texas at Austin 2011
Advisor: Mead Allison
Email: mramire1@tulane.edu

Cari Rand
Ph.D Dissertation Focus: Cosmogenic Nuclide Dating
MS, Earth and Environmental Sciences - Tulane University, 2018
BS, Geology - James Madison University
Faculty Advisor: Brent Goehring
Email:crand1@tulane.edu

Kevin Reece
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Stratigraphic Statistics for Deep-Water Characterization and Numerical Model Validation
MS, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
BS, University of South Carolina
Faculty Advisor:Kyle Straub
Email: jreece@tulane.edu 

Jose Rafael Silvestre

Rachel Sortor
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Cosmogenic Dating of Geomorphology in the Alaska Range
MS, Geology - University of Michigan
BS, Environmental Geosciences - University of Michigan
Faculty Advisor: Brent Goehring
Email:  rsortor@tulane.edu
 

Abdul Wahab
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
MS, Geology - University of Kansas, USA
BS, Geology - University of Peshawar, Pakistan
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub
Email: awahab@tulane.edu