Tulane Home Tulane Shield logo linking to site home page

Current Graduate Students

Nadim Abu Hashmeh
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Remote sensing and planetary surface processes
BS, Earth and Planetary Science - University of California, Santa Cruz
Faculty Advisor: Jennifer Whitten
Email: nabuhashmeh@tulane.edu

Rebekah Albach
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Radar remote sensing of Venusian tesserae
BA, Geoscience, Wellesley College
Faculty Advisor: Jennifer Whitten
Email: ralbach@tulane.edu

Omolola Akintomide
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Biogeochemistry / Groundwater Hydrogeology
MS, Environmental Engineering - University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
BS, Civil Engineering - Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria
Faculty Advisor: Karen Johannesson
Email: oakintomide@tulane.edu

Sam Anderson
BS, Earth Science - University of California Santa Cruz
Faculty Advisor:Nicole Gasparini
Email: sanderson@tulane.edu

Eduardo Arzabala

Alan Braeley
BS, Astronomy – University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Faculty Advisor: Jennifer Whitten
Email: abraeley@tulane.edu

Ryan Clarke
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Coastal Sedimentology
MS, Geological Sciences – Louisiana State University A&M College
BS, Geological Sciences – Louisiana State University A&M College
Faculty Advisor: Torbjörn E. Törnqvist
Email: rclarke@tulane.edu

Wallace Darling
BS, Geology – University of South Florida
Faculty Advisor: Nicole Gasparini
Email: wdarling@tulane.edu

Ripul Dutt
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
Geological Technology, Integrated Masters – Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub
Email:rdutt@tulane.edu

Escobedo, Rory Elizabeth
BS, Geology, Louisiana State University
Faculty Advisor: Mead Allison
Email:rescobedo@tulane.edu

Katrina Ginsberg
BS, Conservation and Resource Studies, University of California, Berkeley
Faculty Advisor: Mead Allison
Email:kginsberg@tulane.edu

Emily Haas

William Heck
MS Research Focus: Volatility trends of moderately volatile elements in various atmospheric conditions
BS, Geology – University of Pittsburgh
Faculty Advisor: Colin Jackson
Email: wheck@tulane.edu

Diana Carolina Hurtado Pulido
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Geophysics, GIS and Radar
BS, Cadastral engineering and Geodesy - Francisco Jose de Caldas Distrital University – Bogotá, Colombia
Faculty advisor: Cynthia Ebinger and Reda Amer
Email: dhurtadopulido@tulane.edu

Tori Kennedy
Master of Science Thesis Focus: Cosmogenic Nuclide Dating
BS, Environmental Science - Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Faculty advisor: Brent Goehring
Email: tkennedy4@tulane.edu

Kristina Leggas

Guandong Li
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Quaternary geology, coastal science
MS, Oceanography - Louisiana State University A&M College
BS, Marine surveying and mapping - Shandong University of Science and Technology, China
Faculty Advisor: Torbjorn Tornqvist
Email: gli4@tulane.edu

James Lopez
 

Lizmar Rodriguez-Lugo
BS, Geology - University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez
Faculty Advisor: Nicole Gasparini
Email: lrodriguezlugo@tulane.edu

Ekanshu Mallick
Ph.D Dissertation Focus: Constraining deep volatile cycle in subduction related processes, experimental petrology
MSc, Applied Geology - Indian Institute of Tecnology, Bombay
BSc, Geology - Ravenshaw University, Odisha
Faculty Advisor: Colin Jackson
Email: emallick@tulane.edu

Udita Mukherjee
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Sequence Stratigraphy, Quaternary Geology
B.Sc. in Geology - Presidency College, Kolkata
M.Sc. in Geological Sciences - Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
Faculty Advisor: Torbjörn E. Törnqvist
Email: umukherjee@tulane.edu

Martin Musila
Ph.D Dissertation Focus: Seismology, Geophysics, East African Rift System, Geothermal Energy
MSc, Geothermal Energy Technology - Dedan Kemathi University, Kenya
BSc, Physics - Mesande Muliro University, Kenya
Faculty Advisor: Cynthia Ebinger
Email:mmusila@tulane.edu

Ryder Myers
BS, Geology - Louisiana State University
Faculty Advisor: Mead Allison
Email: rmyers3@tulane.edu

Marvin Osorio

Melinda Quock

Cari Rand
Ph.D Dissertation Focus: Cosmogenic Nuclide Dating
MS, Earth and Environmental Sciences - Tulane University, 2018
BS, Geology - James Madison University
Faculty Advisor: Brent Goehring
Email:crand1@tulane.edu

Kevin Reece
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Stratigraphic Statistics for Deep-Water Characterization and Numerical Model Validation
MS, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
BS, University of South Carolina
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub
Email: jreece@tulane.edu

Laurent Roberge
PhD Dissertation Focus: Source-to-Sink Landscape Evolution
BSc, Geographical Biogeosciences, University of British Columbia
Faculty Advisor: Nicole Gasparini
Email: lroberge@tulane.edu

Jose Silvestre
PhD Dissertation Focus: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
BS, Geology, University of Texas at San Antonio
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub
Email: jsilvestre@tulane.edu

Rachel Sortor
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Cosmogenic Dating of Geomorphology in the Alaska Range
MS, Geology - University of Michigan
BS, Environmental Geosciences - University of Michigan
Faculty Advisor: Brent Goehring
Email:  rsortor@tulane.edu

Garrett Sullivan
Master of Science Thesis Focus: Surface Structures in Rift Systems
BS,  Geosciences - University of Texas at Dallas
Faculty advisor: Cynthia Ebinger
Email: gsullivan@tulane.edu

Abdul Wahab
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
MS, Geology - University of Kansas
BS, Geology - University of Peshawar, Pakistan
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub
Email: awahab@tulane.edu