Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

Current Graduate Students

Nadim Abu Hashmeh
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Remote sensing and planetary surface processes
B.S.,Earth and Planetary Science, - University of California, Santa Cruz
Faculty Advisor: Jennifer Whitten
Email: nabuhashmeh@tulane.edu

Segun Adebayo
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Biogeochemistry
B.S. Microbiology – University of Ilorin, Nigeria
M.S. Envr. Sci. – KFUPM, Saudi Arabia
Faculty Advisor: Karen Johannesson
Email: sadebay@tulane.edu

Akinbobola Akintomide
Ph. D. Dissertation Focus: Southern Louisiana Faults
M.S., Geosciences - University of Tulsa, Oklahoma
B.Tech., Applied Geology - Federal University of Technology Akure, Nigeria
Faculty Advisor: Nancye Dawers
Email: aakintom@tulane.edu

Omolola Akintomide
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus:BioGeochemistry / Groundwater Hydrogeology
Graduate Degree: M. S. Environmental Engineering - University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Undergraduate Degree: B. S. Civil Engineering - Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Karen Johannesson
Email: oakintomide@tulane.edu

Sam Anderson
Undergraduate Degree: B.S., Earth Science, University of California Santa Cruz
Faculty Advisor:Nicole Gasparini
Email: Sanderson@tulane.edu

Maricel Beltrán Burgos
Undergraduate Degree: B.S., Geology, University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Christopher Esposito
Email: mbeltranburgos@tulane.edu

Ryan Clarke
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Coastal Sedimentology
Undergraduate Degree: B.S. Geological Sciences – Louisiana State University A&M College
                                      M.S. Geological Sciences – Louisiana State University A&M College
Faculty Advisor: Torbjörn E. Törnqvist
Email: rclarke@tulane.edu | ryanclarke218@gmail.com

Ripul Dutt
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
Undergraduate Degree: Geological Technology, Integrated Masters – Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub
Email:rdutt@tulane.edu

Katrina Ginsberg

Jackie Horn
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus:  Biogeochemistry/Geomicrobiology
Graduate Degree:  M.S. Geosciences – The University of Texas at Dallas, USA.
Undergraduate Degree:  B.S. Geosciences – The University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Faculty Advisor:  Karen Johannesson
Email:  jhorn5@tulane.edu

Diana Carolina Hurtado Pulido
PhD Dissertation Focus: Geophysics, GIS and Radar.
Undergraduate Degree:B.S. Cadastral engineering and Geodesy - Francisco Jose de Caldas Distrital University – Bogotá, Colombia
Faculty advisor: Dr. Cynthia Ebinger and Dr. Reda Amer.
Email: dhurtadopulido@tulane.edu

Tori Kennedy

Lizmar Rodriguez-Lugo

B.S., Geology, University of Puerto Rico, Mayagüez

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nicole Gasparini

Email: lrodriguezlugo@tulane.edu

 

Sabrina Martinez
B.S., Geology, University of Houston
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nicole Gasparini
Email: smartinez1@tulane.edu

Marie Mathews
Masters Thesis Topic: Coastal Geology, Coastal Restoration
B.S., Earth and Ocean Sciences - Duke University (2017)
Faculty Advisor: Mead Allison
Email: mmathews1@tulane.edu

Udita Mukherjee
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Sequence Stratigraphy, Quaternary Geology
B.Sc. in Geology, Presidency College, Kolkata
M.Sc. in Geological Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
Faculty Advisor: Torbjörn E. Törnqvist
Email: umukherjee@tulane.edu

Autumn Murray
M.S. Thesis Focus: Sedimentology
B.S., Geology - Eastern Kentucky University (EKU)
Faculty Advisor: Mead Allison
Email: amurray7@tulane.edu

Ryder Myers
B.S.,Geology, Louisiana State University
Faculty Advisor: Mead Allison
Email: rmyers3@tulane.edu

Keir Nichols
Ph. D. Dissertation Focus: Foraminifera to infer the palaeoceanography of Viscount Melville Sound in the Canadian Arctic, with a focus on the Viscount Melville Sound Ice Shelf
M.S., Geoscience Research Training - Keele University
B.S., Physical Geography - Aberystwyth University
Faculty Advisor: Brent Goehring
Email:  knichol3@tulane.edu

Sarah Jaye Oliva
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Geophysics; Fluids and stresses in early rifting
Postgraduate Diploma, Earth System Physics – Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Italy
B.S., Physics – Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines
B.S., Materials Science and Engineering – Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines
Faculty Advisor: Cynthia Ebinger
Email: soliva@tulane.edu

Thi Quan H. Pham
M.S. Thesis Focus: Crestal faults above salt walls: slope minibasin province, Gulf of Mexico
Undergraduate Degree: B.S., Geological Sciences - Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nancye H. Dawers

Michael Ramirez
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus:Field Observation and Numerical Modeling of Bedform Morphodynamics in the Lower Mississippi River
B.A. Earth and Environmental Science, Vanderbilt University 2009
M.S. Geosciences, The University of Texas at Austin 2011
Advisor: Mead Allison
Email: mramire1@tulane.edu

Cari Rand
Ph.D Dissertation Focus:
M.S. Thesis Focus: Cosmogenic Exposure Dating
Undergraduate Degree: B.S. Geology, James Madison University
Faculty Advisor: Brent Goehring
Email:crand1@tulane.edu

Kevin Reece
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Stratigraphic Statistics for Deep-Water Characterization and Numerical Model Validation
Undergraduate Degree: M.S. University of Louisiana at Lafayette, B.S. University of South Carolina
Faculty Advisor:Kyle Straub
Email: jreece@tulane.edu 

Jose Rafael Silvestre

Rachel Sortor
Ph.D Dissertation Focus: Cosmogenic Dating of Geomorphology in the Alaska Range
Graduate Degree: M.S., Geology - University of Michigan
Undergraduate Degree: B.S., Environmental Geosciences - University of Michigan
Faculty Advisor: Brent Goehring
Email:  rsortor@tulane.edu
 

Abdul Wahab
Ph.D. Dissertation Focus: Sedimentology and Stratigraphy
M.S. in Geology, University of Kansas, USA
B.S. in Geology, University of Peshawar, Pakistan
Faculty Advisor: Kyle Straub
Email: awahab@tulane.edu