Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home
Close

Tulane's School of Science and Engineering is committed to excellence in teaching and learning. We are actively preparing for online teaching and monitoring developments related to the coronavirus (COVID-19). For more information, click here.

Faculty and all instructors in the School of Science and Engineering: Please login to Canvas for the most recent announcements and teaching instructions.

Faculty

Henry L. Bart, Jr. | Professor
Email: hbartjr@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 862-8283
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 4054 Stern
Field of Research: Ecology and Systematics of Freshwater Fishes and Amphibians

Dorothy Cheruiyot | Professor of the Practice
Email: dcheruiyot@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 862-8280
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 422 Boggs
Field of Research: Plants and animal interactions, elemental defense, biointeraction between elements and organic defense chemicals, trophic transfer of elements

Keith Clay | Professor and Chair
Email: clay@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 865-5563
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 432 Boggs
Field of Research: Symbiotic interactions and their effect on larger scale ecological and evolutionary processes, utilizing a variety of systems from vertebrates to bacteria, with an emphasis on plants and arthropods.

Emily C. Farrer | Assistant Professor
Email: efarrer@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 862-8288
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 308 ESB/Israel
Fields of Research: Plant Ecology, Plant-Microbe Interactions, Global Change Biology, Invasive Species, Wetland Ecology, Population Genetics, Botany

Kathleen Ferris | Assistant Professor
Email: kferris@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 862-8285
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 362 ESB/Israel
Field of Research: Quantitative and Population Genetics of Natural Plant Populations, Speciation, Plant Ecology

Hannah Frank | Assistant Professor (Starting Fall 2020)
Email: hkfrank@tulane.edu

Alex R. Gunderson | Assistant Professor
Email: agunderson@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 862-8295
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 304 ESB/Israel
Field of Research: Physiological and evolutionary ecology, global change biology, herpetology

Donata R. Henry | Senior Professor of the Practice
Email: droome@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 862-8299
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 431 Boggs Hall
Fields of Research: Ornithology and Ecology

Jordan Karubian | Associate Professor
Email: jk@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 865-5549
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 306 ESB/Israel
Fields of Research: Animal Behavior, Tropical Ecology and Conservation

Tim McLean | Senior Professor of the Practice
Email: tmclean1@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 247-1553
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 430 Boggs
Fields of Research: Molecular Marine Microbiology

Renata DurĂ£es Ribeiro | Professor of the Practice
Email: rduraes@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 862-8286
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 428 Boggs
Fields of Research: Avian ecology, behavior, conservation and evolution

Thomas W. Sherry | Professor
Email: tsherry@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 862-8296
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 4024 Percival Stern
Fields of Research: Bird Population Ecology and Conservation Biology

Caz Taylor | Associate Professor
Email: caz@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 865-5172
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 426 Boggs
Fields of Research: Population Biology of Migratory & Invasive Species, Wetlands Ecology

Sunshine A. Van Bael | Associate Professor
Email: svanbael@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 862-8291
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 364 ESB/Israel
Field of Research: Tropical ecology, plant-insect-fungal interactions, multi-trophic interactions, coastal and wetland ecology

Visiting Faculty

Peter Tellez, Ph.D. | Visiting Assistant Professor
Email: ptellez@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 247-1549
Office: 4017 Stern

Emeritus Faculty

Stuart S. Bamforth | Professor Emeritus of Biology
Email: sobamforth@aol.com

John H. Caruso | Senior Professor of the Practice Emeritus
Ph.D., Tulane, 1975
Email: jcaruso@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Systematics of marine fishes, especially chaunacid and lophiid anglerfishes, and deep-sea fishes of the Gulf of Mexico.

Steven P. Darwin | Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Massachusetts, 1976
Email: darwin@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Flowering plant evolution and classification; botany of Pacific Island plants; plant phylogenetics and biogeography; flora of the southeastern United States and the Yucatan Peninsula of Mexico.

Milton F. Fingerman | Professor Emeritus of Biology
Email: miltonf@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Crustacean Biology, Endocrine Mechanisms, Color Changes, Growth, and Reproduction.

Bruce E. Fleury | Senior Professor of the Practice Emeritus
Ph.D., Tulane, 1996
Email: bfleury@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Ornithology, Dinosaur Biology, Bird-Human Interaction.

David C. Heins | Professor, Fellow of the Linnean Society of London
Email: heins@tulane.edu
Phone: (504) 862-8293
Fax: (504) 862-8706
Office: 4027 Stern Hall
Fields of Research: Ecology and Life-History Evolution of Fishes, Host-Parasite Relationships

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Jennifer Coulson | President
Affiliation: Orleans Audubon Society
Term: Nov 1, 2016 - Oct 31, 2020
Email: jacoulson@aol.com

Dr. Julie Sloan Denslow | Professor
Affiliation: US Forestry Service
Term: Sep 1, 2017 - Aug 31, 2021
Email: jdenslow@fs.fed.us

Dr. Jessica Henkel | Science Advisor and Coordinator
Affiliation: Gulf Coast Ecosystem Restoration Council
Term: Aug 1, 2015 - Jun 30, 2019
Email: jessica.henkel@restorethegulf.gov

Dr. Pawel Waryszak | Postdoctoral Researcher
Affiliation: Blue Carbon Lab at the Centre for Integrative Ecology, Deakin University, Australia
Term: May 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2021
Email: Pawel.waryszak@gmail.com
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/pawelwaryszak/
Office: 4028 Stern Hall

Dr. Scott Walter | Senior Lecturer
Affiliation: Texas State University
Term: Oct 20, 2015 - Oct 19, 2019
Email: s_w208@txstate.edu

Dr. Beth Wee | Senior Professor of the Practice and Associate Dean
Affiliation: Tulane University, Neuroscience Program
Term: May 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2021
Email: bwee@tulane.edu
Office: 2007 Percival Stern Hall

Dr. Julie Whitbeck | Ecologist
Affiliation: National Parks Service
Email: Julie_Whitbeck@nps.gov
Term: May 1, 2017 - Jun 30, 2021

Research Faculty

Michael J. Blum | Research Professor
Email: mjblum@tulane.edu
Fields of Research: Ecological Genetics of Stream Fishes and Coastal Marsh Plants

Elizabeth P. Derryberry | Research Assistant Professor
Email: ederrybe@tulane.edu
Website: https://derryberrylab.wordpress.com/
Fields of Research: Behavioral and Evolutionary Ecology, Communication