Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Jeffrey G. Agnew | Senior Professor of Practice
Ph.D., Louisiana State University, 2008
Email: jagnew@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Geoscience Education, Paleobiology, Paleoecology, Taphonomy, Taxonomy

Mead A. Allison | Professor
Professor and Chair, Dept of River-Coastal Science and Engineering
Ph.D., State University of New York, Stony Brook, 1993
Email: meadallison@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Sedimentary Processes of Continental Margin Environments

Joseph L. Bull | Professor, Interim Department Chair
Ph.D., Northwestern University, 2000
John and Elsie Martinez Biomedical Engineering Chair
Associate Dean of Research, Faculty Affairs and Graduate Studies
Email:  jbull@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Biofluid mechanics, ultrasound, gas embolotherapy, vascular microbubbles and microdroplets, edema, vascular mechanics and transport.

Nancye H. Dawers | Associate Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University, 1997
Email: ndawers@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Structural Geology, Neotectonics, Fault Growth and Interaction Using Scaling Relations in Evolving Fault Populations

Cynthia J. Ebinger | Professor and Marshall-Heape Chair in Geology
Ph.D., MIT-WHOI Joint Program, 1988
Email: cebinger@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Solid-Earth Geophysics, Earthquake and Volcano Seismology, Crustal Dynamics

George C. Flowers | Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1979
Email: flowers@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Theoretical Geochemistry, Sedimentary Geochemistry, Environmental Geochemistry of Estuarine Sediments

Nicole M. Gasparini | Associate Professor
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2003
Email: ngaspari@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Fluvial Geomorphology, Landscape Evolution, Sediment Delivery from Hillslopes to Rivers, Interactions between Climate and Tectonics Through Erosion, Impacts of Climate Change on River Networks

Brent M. Goehring | Associate Professor
Ph.D., Columbia University, 2010
Email: bgoehrin@tulane.edu
Research Interests: The application of cosmogenic nuclides and other isotope systems to questions in Plio/Pleistocene geology (last 6 million years), including glacial geology and paleoclimatology, tectonics, volcanology, and other earth surface processes.

Nathan R. Hopkins | Professor of Practice
Ph.D., Lehigh University, 2016
Email: nhopkins1@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Quaternary Geology, Geomorphology, Soils, Geographic Information Systems, Mapping & Field Geology

Colin Jackson | Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Brown University, 2014
Email: cjackson2@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Solid Earth geochemistry and petrology, High temperature and pressure synthesis, Planetary Science

Kyle M. Straub | Associate Professor
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2007
Email: kmstraub@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Sediment transport from land through the ocean into the stratigraphic record, Continental Slope Morphodynamics, Submarine Morphodynamics

Torbjörn E. Törnqvist | Vokes Geology Professor
Ph.D., Utrecht University, 1993
Email: tor@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Quaternary geology, Fluvial and deltaic sedimentology, Sequence stratigraphy, Sea-level change, Coastal sustainability, Applied geochronology, Paleoclimatology

Jennifer Whitten | Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Brown University, 2014
Email: jwhitten1@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Planetary Science, Volcanism, Impact Cratering, Geomorphology, Radar

Emeritus Faculty

Stephen A. Nelson | Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1979
Email: snelson@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Igneous Petrology, Volcanology, Relationship Between Volcanism and Tectonism, Particularly in Mexico, Mechanisms of Explosive Volcanism, Natural Disasters

Ronald L. Parsley | Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Cincinnati, 1969
Email: parsley@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Phylogenetics, Functional Morphology, Paleoecology, Mode and Tempo of Evolution of Lower Paleozoic primitive Echinodermata, Paleobiology and Paleoecology of Lower Paleozoic Faunas

Research Faculty

Nathan Lyons | Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., North Carolina State University, 2014
Email: nlyons@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Fluvial and Tectonic Geomorphology, surface processes response to climatic and tectonic forcings, interactions among geological processes and biological evolution

Adjunct Faculty

Reda M. Amer
Ph.D., Saint Louis University, 2011
Email: rmer1@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Remote Sensing, Geographic Information Systems (GIS) for Geological, Hydrological, and Environmental applications

Marshall Bowles | Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., University of Georgia, 2011
Email: mbowles2@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Biogeochemistry, microbial ecology, geomicrobiology, molecular microbiology, marine deep subsurface biosphere

Chris Esposito | Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., Tulane University, 2017
Email: cesposit@tulane.edu
Research Interests: Hydraulics and Sediment Transport In River Deltas, Floodplain Sedimentation, Sedimentary Processes within Vegetation, Numerical Modeling of Coastal Morphology, Coastal Zone Management and Infrastructure

Karen H. Johannesson | Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., University of Nevada, 1993
Email:kjohanne@tulane.edu

Barry Kohl | Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., Tulane University, 1980
Email: bkohl40@cs.com
Research Interests: Tertiary Foraminiferal Biostratigraphy, Applied Micropaleontology, Global Sea Level change

Postdoctoral Fellows

Michael Hopkins | Postdoctoral Fellow
Ph.D., Tulane University, 2016
Research Interests: Tectonic Geomorphology, Extensional Tectonics and Landscape Evolution, Normal Faulting, Rifting, Growth Faulting and Coastal Land Loss

Dong-Eun (Daniel) Kim
Ph.D., Korea University, 2019
Research Interests: Fluvial Geomorphology, Tectonic Geomorphology, Stream Incision and Hillslope Reaction to Climatic and Tectonic Forcing, The application of cosmogenic nuclides, Landscape Evolution

Staff

Tonya Durden | Administrative Program Coordinator
Phone: 504-247-1798
Email: tdurden@tulane.edu

Tanya Goehring, PG | Laboratory Technician
Phone: 504-862-3220
Email: tgoehrin@tulane.edu

David Maag | Computer Operations Core
Phone: 504-988-3825
Email: dmaag@tulane.edu

Janel Fielding | Accountant II
Phone: 504-314-2929
Email: jfielding@tulane.edu